“When you disagree, don’t be disagreeable.” Obama

As long as we’ve been working to get the Obama Foundation up and running, I’ve been thinking about what I might say at the Foundation’s first big gathering — what words of wisdom I’d give to a group of people who have devoted their lives to making the world better.

In true dad fashion, I came up with a set of rules. There are just a few of them, and I think they’re pretty simple. This afternoon, I encouraged our Summit attendees to follow them while they’re here together — and I think they’re relevant to our everyday lives, too:

Rule 1: Listen.Rule 2: Don't be disagreeable.Rule 3: No selfies!Rule 4: Have fun.

It’s taken a lot of work to get here, and I’ve never been more excited about the future of this Foundation. I’m so happy that you’re with us.

Thank you,

Barack

P.S. You can tune in for the livestream of the second day of the Obama Foundation Summit beginning tomorrow at 9:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. CT at Obama.org. If I were you, I’d definitely be watching around 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s